Thursday, April 26th, 2012

Share Your Stuff and Stay in Control: Using Box Shared Links

By

Sharing is a huge part of what we do at Box, which is why we want to make it insanely easy for you to share your content with just a few clicks. Shared links have been around for a while now, and we’re constantly thinking of new ways to make them as useful and powerful as possible.

To get started with shared links, simply log in and click “Share” next to a folder or file to see your sharing options in a convenient drop-down menu. Here’s a quick rundown of what the different settings mean:

Open:

Set the link to “open” if you want anyone with the shared link to have access to the file. To restrict access to the file, you can set an expiration date or even require a password – these restrictions will apply to anyone not already collaborating in the folder.

@Company:

Want to send out a link without worrying about company outsiders viewing the file? Just select the “@Company” option to make the file accessible to anyone in your domain. This option will only appear if you’re collaborating with people who are using your email domain.

 Collaborators Only:

Pick this option if you want to point a collaborator to a specific file or folder without compromising that item’s security. Even if a non-collaborator receives the link, they won’t be able to access the file.

Disable:

This feature disables the shared link for a file or folder. If a collaborator wants to access this content, they’ll have to log in to Box and locate it in their account.

In addition to these features, you can do a couple nifty things with your content, like:

Set download permissions

Want the recipient of a shared link to be able to view a file but not download it? If you’re the file owner or editor, just open up the shared link menu, click on “Restrict permissions” under the “Open Access” description and select the setting of your choice. By default, both preview and downloads are enabled, but you can turn off either one with just a click.

See download and view stats

Click on the bar graph next to “Open Access” to see insightful stats about who’s accessing your file – and when. If a collaborator has accessed it, you’ll see their name; if you’ve shared the file with someone outside your Box account, you’ll see an IP address. You can also see a timestamp of when your content was accessed, along with whether your content was previewed, downloaded or both.

Share or send files – right from Box

Just click “Share” next to your file, then “Send” to see all the different ways you can share your file. You can post it to social networks like Yammer, Twitter and Facebook, send it via email or even embed it on your website or blog. Of course, you can always just copy the shared link and send it directly to a colleague.

Check out these all features in action below:

If you have a Business or Enterprise account, the administrator can even change the shared link settings for everyone in your entire deployment. Your IT department will rest easy knowing that your company is in complete control of who has access to what.

Something else cool: Even if you change the name of the original file or folder, your shared link will remain intact with the settings you’ve chosen. All the metadata associated with your content (like tasks, comments, version history, etc.) will remain intact as well.

Have any tips or tricks for using shared links? Leave them in the comments below.